Launched in 2013, the Rising Stars Awards were created to celebrate and reward the brilliance of all too often overlooked members of editorial and digital teams up to and including deputy editor. Nominated entrants don’t need to be newcomers as these awards are to recognise outstanding work by long-standing team members just as much as those who are up-and-coming.


To find out more about the 2016 Rising Stars categories please click here.


Entries will be shortlisted by teams of BSME Committee members who will not shortlist titles they work on. The shortlist will then be sent to the external panel of judges.

The results will be announced at a Party at Andaz Liverpool Street on Monday 6 June 2016.


  • The deadline for entries is Friday, 29 January 2016.
  • The year under consideration runs from 1 January to 31 December 2015 (this is the onsale/availability date, not the date on the cover)
  • Part-time staff are eligible to enter, providing they have made a substantial enough contribution to warrant being nominated
  • If you/your team work across several brands a joint entry is acceptable
  • Only work published during this period may be submitted
  • To enter you must work on a title that is published in English
  • If you are the most senior member of your team and eligible to enter the main BSME Awards, you are therefore not eligible to enter the Rising Stars Awards – e.g. Creative Directors, Art Directors, Editors, Editors-in-Chief etc
  • Acting members of staff may only enter the Best Section Team category if they worked on a submitted project.
  • Entries from acting members of staff will not be accepted in any other category.
  • If you work on a print title, the majority of distribution/circulation must be in the UK
  • Digital editions should be produced by a British company and aimed predominantly at a British audience
  • Student titles are not eligible to enter
  • Should a title or App be suspended or closed prior to the Awards Presentation the entry will be withdrawn
  • The decision of the BSME Committee is final
  • For all awards, members of the panel of judges are excluded from judging any title they edit


  • BSME Members*: £75.00 per entry, inc VAT
  • Non-BSME Members: £98.00 per entry, inc VAT
  • Entrants must pay online (click here) or enclose a cheque with their entry payable to The British Society of Magazine Editors
  • Entries without payment will not be processed

*To qualify for the BSME rate you must have been a member of the BSME during the period 1 January to 31 December 2015. If you had temporary membership from entering the main BSME 2015 Awards you must pay the non-member rate.


It’s simple to enter. Just:

  1. Complete and print the entry form included with each category
  2. Write the supporting statement
  3. Select the required amount of work to submit
  4. Pay online (click here) or enclose payment with your entry
  5. Please complete the form and send it with the statement, pieces of work and payment to the BSME Office. Please send the completed entry form as a word document and include any digital links so they can be easily viewed. The supporting statement and material should be sent as one complete PDF either on a disc or USB stick, with a print-out on A4 paper. Please keep a copy for your records.
  6. Mark your entry ‘Rising Stars’; add the name of your title, send it to BSME Administration, Gill Branston & Associates, 137 Hale Lane, Edgware, Middlesex HA8 9QP
  • Entries will be accepted only between 10.00am and 4.00pm, Monday to Friday
  • Incomplete entries will not be processed
  • Entries and supporting material will not be returned.

For further information, please contact:
BSME Administration
Gill Branston & Associates
020 8906 4664


Don’t miss the 2016 BSME Rising Stars Awards presentation. Find out which of your brilliant team members have won and celebrate their success with them in the chic and chilled surroundings of our special venue and enjoy catching up with friends and colleagues over a glass of champagne. If last year is anything to go by, we expect this to sell out, so make sure you and your team are there by booking early.

WHERE Restaurant 1901, Andaz, Liverpool Street, London, EC2M 7QN
WHEN Monday 6 June 18:30 - 20:30 GMT
(followed by a pay bar)
WHAT Champagne, Canapés, Awards Presentation
HOW MUCH £62.50+VAT per ticket


  • Ticket purchases are subject to availability
  • Names of guests may be submitted after payment has been made
  • Tickets will not be sent out until the names and details of all attendees have been received
  • Bookings will not be accepted unless payment has been made
  • Click here to pay online; alternatively, please enclose a cheque payable to The British Society of Magazine Editors with a copy of your booking form
  • Please note that once your booking form has been received money will not be refunded in the event of cancellation by your and/or your guests
  • Please note that this event may be photographed or recorded for use on the BSME website and/or publicity purposes
  • Receipted VAT invoices will be sent out with tickets in due course.

Please send this form, complete with payment (if you have not paid online), to:


BSME Administration
Gill Branston & Associates
137 Hale Lane


You can download the full list of winners and shortlisted entries from previous years here.